2014 Writers Guild of America Awards Winners

Her Movie 2013 Screenshot Spinning

Last night the Writers Guild of America had their little get together to announce their favorites of 2013. Her (Spike Jonze) and Captain Phillips (Billy Ray) walked away with the top honors for Best Original and Best Adapted Screenplays, respectively. Two choices that were big surprises at the awards last night. It’s always fun to shake things up during Oscar season and there’s no better awards than screenplays to keep us on our toes. Check out the full list of winners from film, television, and video games of the WGA Awards after the break.

It’s not that it’s a bad thing that Her won, it’s actually spectacular news, it’s just comes as a surprise to me and I hope that the Academy recognizes its beauty. However, Captain Phillips is more of a shock because it hasn’t had much steam this awards season at all. And to best Before Midnight is a damn shame in my opinion. You win some you lose some.

Stories We Tell coming out with a win is a big shocker too. I have not seen it, but everyone has been talking about A Great Beauty and The Act of Killing, which are two films not nominated for their writing. But then again, when it comes down to it isn’t the writing that wins Best Documentary it’s the direction, which Jehane Noujaim (The Square) won at the DGA Awards last week.

In the television category it’s great to see Breaking Bad triumphant after the show’s end, especially for “Confessions,” which is a gripping achievement in writing and intensity. The fact that the show was nominated for three episodes is a testament to the writers.

And one final note, I really need to play The Last of Us. That is all.


Her, Written by Spike Jonze; Warner Bros. (WINNER)
American Hustle, Written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell; Columbia Pictures
Blue Jasmine, Written by Woody Allen; Sony Classics
Dallas Buyers Club, Written by Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack; Focus Features
Nebraska, Written by Bob Nelson; Paramount Pictures

Captain Phillips, Screenplay by Billy Ray; Based on the book A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty; Columbia Pictures (WINNER)
August: Osage County, Screenplay by Tracy Letts; Based on his play; The Weinstein Company
Before Midnight, Written by Richard Linklater & Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke; Based on characters created by Richard Linklater & Kim Krizan; Sony Classics
Lone Survivor, Written by Peter Berg; Based on the book by Marcus Lutrell with Patrick Robinson; Universal Pictures
The Wolf of Wall Street, Screenplay by Terence Winter; Based on the book by Jordan Belfort; Paramount Pictures

Stories We Tell, Written by Sarah Polley; Roadside Attractions (WINNER)
Dirty Wars, Written by Jeremy Scahill & David Riker; Sundance Selects
Herblock – The Black & The White, Written by Sara Lukinson & Michael Stevens;The Stevens Company
No Place on Earth, Written by Janet Tobias & Paul Laikin; Magnolia Pictures
We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks; Written by Alex Gibney; Focus Features


Breaking Bad (WINNER)
The Good Wife
House of Cards
Mad Men

30 Rock
Modern Family
Parks and Recreation
Orange Is the New Black

Days of Our Lives (WINNER)
General Hospital
The Young and the Restless

House of Cards (WINNER)
The Americans
Masters of Sex
Orange is the New Black
Ray Donovan

The Colbert Report (WINNER)
The Daily Show With Jon Stewart
Jimmy Kimmel Live!
Saturday Night Live

“A Test Before Trying” (The Simpsons), Written by Joel H. Cohen; Fox (WINNER)
“Game of Tones” (Futurama), Written by Michael Rowe; Comedy Central
“Hardly Kirk-ing” (The Simpsons), Written by Tom Gammill & Max Pross; Fox
“Murder on the Planet Express” (Futurama), Written by Lew Morton; Comedy Central
“Saturday Morning Fun Pit” (Futurama), Written by Patric M. Verrone; Comedy Central
“Yolo” (The Simpsons), Written by Michael Nobori; Fox

“Hogcock!” (30 Rock), Written by Jack Burditt & Robert Carlock; NBC (WINNER)
“Career Day” (Modern Family), Written by Paul Corrigan & Brad Walsh; ABC
“Farm Strong” (Modern Family), Written by Elaine Ko; ABC
“Lesbian Request Denied” (Orange Is the New Black), Written by Sian Heder; Netflix
“Leslie and Ben” (Parks and Recreation), Written by Michael Schur & Alan Yang; NBC
“Pilot” (Orange Is the New Black), Teleplay by Liz Friedman and Jenji Kohan; Netflix

“Confessions” (Breaking Bad), Written by Gennifer Hutchison; AMC (WINNER)
“Buried” (Breaking Bad), Written by Thomas Schnauz; AMC
“Episode 101” (House of Cards), Teleplay by Beau Willimon; Netflix
“Granite State” (Breaking Bad), Written by Peter Gould; AMC
“Hitting the Fan” (The Good Wife), Written by Robert King & Michelle King; CBS
“Pilot” (Masters of Sex), Written by Michelle Ashford; Showtime


The Last of Us, Written by Neil Druckmann; Sony Computer Entertainment (WINNER)
God of War: Ascension, Written by Marianne Krawczyk; Additional Writing Ariel Lawrence; Sony Computer Entertainment
Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, Story by Darby McDevitt, Mustapha Mahrach, Jean Guesdon; Lead Scriptwriter Darby McDevitt; Scriptwriter Jill Murray; AI Scriptwriter Nicholas Grimwood; Scriptwriter Singapore Mark Llabres Hill; Ubisoft
Batman: Arkham Origins, Narrative Director Dooma Wendschuh; Writer & Senior Narrative Designer Ryan Galletta; Writer Corey May; Warner Bros. Interactive
God of War: Ascension, Written by Marianne Krawczyk; Additional Writing Ariel Lawrence; Sony Computer Entertainment
Lost Planet 3, Head Writer Richard Gaubert; Writers Orion Walker, Matt Sophos; Capcom

Be sure to keep up with all of the updates on Awards season by following the tag, Movie Awards.

Find me on the Twitter @TyRawrrnosaurus

Source: Directors Guild of America

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.